Five AA top leaders charged under Counter-Terrorism Law

Share this:


The AA’s Commander-in-Chief Maj-Gen Twan Mrat Naing, deputy chief Big-Gen Nyo Twan Aung, Colonel Kyaw Han, Information officer Khiang Thukha and San Shwe Maung have been charged by Sittwe District court under the Counter-Terrorism law.

Seven local people from Kyaung Taung village in Mrauk-U Township have been charged under section 52 (a) of the Counter-Terrorism law. The top five AA leaders also face accusations, said Daw Aye Nu Sein, who is providing legal aid for Kyaung Taung villagers.

After close inspection of the case we discovered that five of the accused people are top leaders of the AA,” Daw Aye Nu Sein said.

The seven accused had to appear at court on 4 July, but the trial has been postponed until 18 July because the case cannot be heard in court since it’s related to a fugitive case.
Daw Aye Nu Sein said that the case cannot be examined before the accused are proclaimed as fugitives, then a case can be brought against the five accused people under section 512 of the Code of Criminal Procedure Law.

“After officially announcing the five top accused leaders are fugitives, the case can be examined,” she said.

Seven villagers were arrested by the Tatmadaw near Chaung Thit village on March 12 while they were sending a patient with malaria from Thapawsa village in Minbya Township to Mrauk-U hospital.


Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *